Fothergilla

November 10, 2013

One of my favorite shrubs has some pretty fall color this week.

Garden 11 10 13 036

The fothergilla bush mixes red, orange and yellow colors together in the fall.  This is a four season bush and maybe my favorite.

Garden 11 10 13 050

I planted another little fothergilla bush in the corner of the yard this spring.  I think this one is called ‘beaver creek.’  It has had a terrible time all year.  I have been nursing it along, but enjoy the promise of bright colors in the future from looking at it today.

Garden 11 10 13 033

I walked past the miscanthus ‘morning light’ today and notice that it was turning orange/red.

Garden 11 10 13 015

This weekend was all about building the compost pile.  We mowed and mulched up the leaves.  We will probably have as much again of leaves before we are done.  Meanwhile the pile will heat up and shrink this week.  I added green items to the pile and a bucket of water.

Garden 11 10 13 007

This red lettuce was looking beautiful today.  Unfortunately it tastes very bitter, but it is great for the compost pile.

Garden 11 10 13 040

I badly needed to thin out some of the vegetables under the plastic hoop.  This is pak choi that we flash fried at lunch.  I also thinned out some lettuce that we put in a green smoothie this morning.

Garden 11 10 13 003

Whenever I bring in vegetables I tend to also bring in some creature.  On Monday evening I went in to bring in some lettuce after dark.  I had the yard light on, so I could barely see the lettuce.  Now I see that the slugs are active at night and enjoying the vegetables, too. Here is a little slug that was in the sink.

Garden 11 10 13 010

Here is a bigger slug I found when I propped up one of the collard plants.  The collards have holes on them, but it is not a big issue.

Garden 11 10 13 005

The green tomatoes I brought in three weeks ago are gradually turning red.  They are kind of ugly looking tomatoes, but they taste good!

4 Responses to “Fothergilla”

  1. bittster said

    The fall colors look great and I’m jealous of your mulched leaves! Mine seem to blow away faster than I can catch them for the compost.

  2. I’m going to have to find a fothergilla bush! It’s gorgeous! Hope it grows in zone 7

Leave a Reply

