Fall Color on American Hornbeam

October 6, 2013

We had almost two inches of rain in the past few days, so the parched plants are starting to recover.  There is more fall color on the shrub border now.  The spice bush really grew tall this year and is starting to turn yellow now.  We bought two American Hornbeam trees last fall.  One of them is still quite green, while the other is shades of orange and pink.
Garden 10 05 13 028

American hornbeam between two lilac bushes.  The idea is that the hornbeam and small lilac would gradually grow and fill in this space in the shrub border.  On the left is solidago rugosa ‘fireworks” and on the right is chrysanthemum ‘overture.’

Garden 10 05 13 031

Close up of carpinus caroliniana – American hornbeam, also know as blue beech, ironwood, and musclewood.

Garden 10 05 13 063

Purple aster.  I think they are New England asters, but they could be purple dome asters.  I can’t exactly remember what I planted.

Garden 10 05 13 065

Potter wasp (or mason’s wasp) on aster.

Garden 10 05 13 076

Green metallic bee on aster.

Garden 10 05 13 075

Action shot of green metallic bee in flight.

Garden 10 06 13 003

Bumblebee on agastache – ‘blue fortune’ anise hyssop.  I am not that good at distinguishing between bumblebees and carpenter bees, but I think this is a bumblebee.  The agastache is still covered with these bees.  At night they hang on the underside of the flowers and as soon as dawn comes they come to life and start buzzing around these flowers.  The agastache has definitely been the most attractive plant for pollinators over a long time this summer.

Garden 10 06 13 012

I have had a ‘top hat’ blueberry in a container on the patio for the past two summers.  Yesterday I planted it in the patio border.  It is the little plant with red leaves on the left.  Just to the right of this border is the ‘duke’ blueberry, so the two are close enough to help in pollination in the spring.  I had to add some acidic soil to the ground for the blueberry, so we will see how it goes.

Garden 10 05 13 022

Just to the right of the last picture, the alyssum took over the sidewalk half-way through the summer, so that I have been walking on the lawn… Yesterday I put most of it in the yard waste bin, since October is the last month for yard waste pickup.  I have two large garbage cans, but they can fill up pretty quickly this time of year.  I don’t needs these alyssum seeds in my compost.

Cooking adventure:  Just roasted a butternut squash and green beans.  Yesterday we made the kale and potato soup again.  That freezes well, too, so it’s a winner.

14 Responses to “Fall Color on American Hornbeam”

  1. pbmgarden said

    The hornbeam is nice and I like your alyssum. I grew white alyssum last year and it spread like crazy; this year a purple one has done very little growing.

    • I’ve had no luck with the purple alyssum, but the white self seeds, especially if you have as many seeds as I do. I don’t need to plant it each spring. Other years I have mixed in more zinnias or marigolds, but I was lazy this year.

  2. Still looks very good! Great post!

  3. bittster said

    Look at all that alyssum. I never thought of it as an aggressive plant. I would have walked on the lawn too! 🙂
    The chard looks nice in your border.

    • It is really a nice filler, especially around perennials that might not be exciting all summer. I think the chard is beautiful! I just cooked a few leaves for supper.

  4. Annette said

    I like Solidago Fireworks and didn’t know the Carpinus up to now – such a beauty. Still lots of colour in your garden 🙂

  5. Amy said

    wow, the American hornbeam is stunning. Love the colors.

    • I bought two American hornbeams from Possibility Place, a nursery that gets seeds in the wild. The two trees are 8 feet apart but completely different colors. The other one is yellow-green. That is the fun of buying native plants rather than cultivars.

  6. I feel cozy to be in your garden! We know very well-every day some work…nice to visit your site Alla

Leave a Reply

