Labor Day in the Garden

September 2, 2013

It was great to have the day off and to be able to get a few things done around the garden.  I actually got quite a bit of cleaning done this morning and some seeds planted.  What I really enjoy this time of year are the insects and wild life that is everywhere, from spiders to butterflies.  I tried to get a picture of a black swallowtail butterfly, but it was fluttering so quickly I could not get it in focus.  Here are a few little creatures I was able to get shots of….
Garden 08 31 13 003

At sunset a bee was resting for the night in a gaillardia flower.

Garden 08 31 13 016

Dragonfly, I think a widow skimmer, on penstemon digitalis – husker red seed head.

Garden 08 31 13 035

Grasshopper on green bean vines.

Garden 09 02 13 004

Three pollinators on Agastache.  The bee and the soldier beetle on the right are familiar.  A new one was the long orange looking bug on the left.  It turns our to be a Ailanthus webworm moth.  They are not native, but have migrated north for the summer, as they like the tree of heaven, which is an invasive tree that is common now in our neighborhood.

Garden 09 02 13 011

Now that it is September a few sedum flowers are turning pink and the soldier beetles are migrating over here and seem to be mating on the flower.  Bees and butterflies like these flowers, too.

Garden 09 02 13 015

Ant on fennel with pink zinnias.

Garden 08 31 13 027

Berries on viburnum arrowwood Chicago lustre.  This has been a good year for a lot of berries on the Chicago lustre and raspberry tart viburnum.

Today’s experiment:  On September 2nd I planted nasturtium and pea seeds that I harvested myself.  Are the seeds viable and will they germinate and sprout this late?  I also planted more lettuce, tatsoi, and onions, to keep it coming through the fall.

7 Responses to “Labor Day in the Garden”

  1. What kind of camera do you have?

  2. pbmgarden said

    Nice to see your garden of pollinators. I tried to photograph black swallowtails recently too but they flitted away.

    • Thank you! I don’t remember the wings flapping so rapidly on the black swallowtail last year. I got enough of a picture that I could see the colors, but not worth posting.

  3. I’m really enjoying your plants I’m so glad you dropped by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

