View from the Lawn Chair

August 11, 2013

You’ve got to appreciate summer while you have it!  My kids and I sat outside on the patio for a little this weekend and I spent time there eating, reading and napping.  Wonderful!

Garden 08 11 13 043

This is the view as I sit in my reclining, relaxing lawn chair.  The dominant tall flowers are Russian sage, heliopsis summer sun, and agastache – hyssop.  Last year we first started this garden to give us some privacy from the people who walk through the easement behind our yard.  The bees were so busy today, especially in the agastache.

Garden 08 11 13 039

Still on the patio and just to the left of the last picture is butterfly weed, zebra grass and more Russian sage.

Garden 08 11 13 021

To the right of the patio is the sidewalk to the garden that is now covered with white alyssum.  The weather has been dry recently and we could really use some rain.  The lawn is starting to look brown except for the patches that are covered by creeping charlie.  I have tried to fight creeping charlie each year, but it is a losing battle.  That is one reason we keep on digging up more of the lawn to plant new things….

Garden 08 11 13 009

Heirloom pepper – Jimmy Nardello.  This is a very sweet pepper that is good for a snack right off the plant.  There is always something to harvest in the garden these days.

Garden 08 11 13 013

On Friday I made a roasted ratatouille to use up more tomatoes and other vegetables, like zucchini, eggplant, pepper, and onion.

Cooking adventure:  I make kale chips on Saturday.  The kids did not go for them, so I ate them up.

These are a few of my favorite things:

  • Searching for pole beans
  • Finding a few ripe strawberries in August
  • Watching bees go crazy on the agastache
  • Taking pictures after the heat of the day and before the bugs get bothersome.
  • Butterflies and dragonflies
  • Watching birds in the bird bath.
  • Looking at seeds that have just sprouted

10 Responses to “View from the Lawn Chair”

  1. You could make a new Sound of Music song. 🙂

  2. I love alyssum. Such a simple flower but can make a dramatic statement. Your view is wonderful!
    Brenda

  3. bittster said

    “View from the Lawnchair” great summertime title, to me it really sums up what August should be!

  4. Iamrcc said

    You have a nice view. Thank you for visiting and the like of my post “Water Drops My Polka Dots”.

  5. I’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster Award – check out my blog for details !

Leave a Reply

