Springtime Yellow

April 21, 2013

Everything started to green up this week.  I am enjoying yellow in the garden this spring.

Garden 04 21 13 012

I am not sure what kind of native bee this is, but it was exploring each daffodil trumpet and is carrying off yellow pollen.

Garden 04 21 13 044

What a week of rain!  I guess the drought is over in our yard for now.  The daffodils have been long lasting with the cool weather, but a little beat down by the storms.

Garden 04 21 13 008

These narcissus opened before the rain.  They are some of my favorites.

Garden 04 21 13 020

The spicebush blossoms finally opened this week attracting pollinators and birds.

Garden 04 21 13 036

Note the difference between the spicebush blossoms and these Cornelian Cherry Dogwood blossoms I saw blooming at Lake Katherine today.

Birds:  When I stand at the kitchen window I can see so many different kinds of birds.  They are all busy now, with spring so late.  Here is a robin enjoying our birdbath a week ago.

Garden 04 21 13 001

4 Responses to “Springtime Yellow”

  1. It looks like you have a great space for gardening. Thanks for sharing: I love these images.

  2. bgbowers said

    I love the image of the bee exploring the daffodil trumpet – gorgeous x

Leave a Reply

