First Tiny Flowers

March 17, 2013

I did not mean to spend hours in the garden yesterday and today, but once I got outside to see what was happening I got SPRING FEVER!  I cut back some ornamental grasses and got rid of the sedum stalks.  Today I planted peas and onions outside and inside I planted more lettuce, and got some flower seeds started.

Garden 03 17 13 012

Last fall we planted a little vernal witch hazel shrub we got at Possibility Place.  I went out today to see if it was blooming and sure enough there were a few little confetti flowers.

Garden 03 17 13 014

vernal witch hazel – hamamelis vernalis

Garden 03 17 13 028

Purple crocus wait for the sun to open.

Garden 03 17 13 031

Yellow crocus.  These are the ones whose leaves emerged in January and then were covered with snow in February.  They came through beautifully.

Garden 03 17 13 033

I noticed the striped outer layer of the flowers for the first time today.  I love the little details!

Garden 03 17 13 025

Dan helped me to take down the old bird house and put up a Peterson bluebird house.  I think it is less attractive to sparrows.

Garden 03 17 13 026

Last week we put up a Gilbertson PVC bluebird house.  I am not sure I have it in the right location yet.  The blue feeder on the left has rehydrated mealy worms.  I am not sure that the birds are very impressed yet…

While posting this I was heartened by listening to Il Volo sing “Smile.”  Those three young Italian guys sing it so well!

Smile, though your heart is aching.

Smile even though it’s breaking.

When there are clouds in the sky you’ll get by.

If you smile through your fear and sorrow

Smile and maybe tomorrow

You’ll see the sun come shining through for you.

3 Responses to “First Tiny Flowers”

  1. Hi, thank you for your visit! You have a lovely blog. I love this song also, but the Josh Groban version:)

  2. opreach said

    Gotta love the crocuses (or maybe it’s croci)! Thank you for following my blog. Peace, Pat

  3. Pat, I also wondered about the plural of crocus, but was too busy to look it up when I posted this. Here is what the internet says: “Crocuses” is the most common form, but the Latin masculine plural “croci” may be used as well.”

Leave a Reply

