Winter Hike

February 3, 2013

Looking at the fluffy snow falling this morning I couldn’t wait to go for a walk in the woods.  We wore all our warmest layers and put on our boots.  We were ready for the cold weather!

Garden 02 03 13 005

We walked east from Lake Katherine, along the canal.  The snow was covering all the tracks.  I think the wildlife had decided to take cover while it was snowing.

Garden 02 03 13 009

Coming back we walked along a trail on top of a ridge.  We have seen a coyote in the distance in this area, but not today.  The fluffy snowflakes were sitting delicately on the branches.

Garden 02 03 13 012

Is this the work of a woodpecker?  Is anything in there during the winter?

Garden 02 03 13 013

What do ducks think of the weather?  Near the waterfall some were sleeping with their heads tucked under a wing, some were preening and right under the waterfall a group had their heads in the water and were busy feeding.

Cooking adventure:  Right now I have root vegetables roasting in the oven.  The vegetables include butternut squash, beets, parsnip, carrots, red onion, and garlic.  I’m getting hungry!

4 Responses to “Winter Hike”

  1. sherrimatt said

    Your photos are beautiful! Thank you for visiting and liking my blog, I’m glad that you enjoyed my snow photos from across the pond and hope you will visit again as I post more photos from my garden, and hopefully more of my Sweet Robin!

  2. beautiful winter photos! I like the photos of the trail you were on. So beautiful after the fresh fallen snow. Your roasted root vegetables sound wonderful! Thanks for stopping by Not Dabbling in Normal and reading my post. Emily

  3. Jackie said

    Wonderful winter captures! Roasted vegetables? Yum! Sounds like a great day. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and liking my photo. I appreciate it very much. 😀

Leave a Reply

