Snow White

February 2, 2013

This has been a crazy weather week.  I think it was up to 60 degrees F. on Tuesday or Wednesday and down to zero two days later with a – 15 F. wind chill.  The freezing rain that froze the locks on my car door finally turned to beautiful snow.

Garden 02 02 13 012

It looks like we got about two inches of snow.  Everything is covered with a clean, white blanket.

Garden 02 02 13 007

Hicksii yew.

Garden 02 02 13 001

Here are the crocus leaves that came up in January.  Will they bloom?  I hope so.

Garden 02 02 13 009

Here is the lettuce that I planted just one week ago.  It is looking very leggy. I have a light on it now, but have not left the light on during the day while I have been at work.

Moving to a healthy diet has had its challenges.  We feel like pioneers, along with others around the world, who are trying to get back to less processed food.  In order for Dan to stay off his Lipitor we have to be serious about this.  At the same time we want to enjoy the process and have fun with it.

6 Responses to “Snow White”

  1. Diane C said

    We live on a deer path and so any attempts at a garden generally come to naught. Instead, we buy local vegies, fruit, meat and eggs as much as possible and when we shop at the grocery store, we try and only shop from the outside walls and avoid the aisles in the middle.

  2. Growing things is always a challenge. 🙂

  3. djdfr said

    Generally the crocuses resist and bloom anyway. Sometimes they get eaten, but that is a different danger.

    The benefits are worth it from changing one’s diet.

  4. I once had a doctor who wanted to put me on lipitor. I refused. She said well at least take a look at the Pritikin Diet. I didn’t follow the diet exactly but was able to bring my cholestrol down pretty quick. Love the snow pics. The snow missed me here in my neck of woods. Thanks for visiting.

  5. patsquared2 said

    If you want to keep your sprouts from getting leggy, get the light down to within 1 inch of their tops! As they grow, move the light up but not too far. Your babies are literally reaching for the light!

    And by the way, I love your blog!

  6. FarAway Peach Garden (世外桃源) said

    I am growing chives from seeds right now. But my planter is not as fancy as yours for your lettuce.:-)

Leave a Reply

