Good Morning!

September 13, 2012

Morning is such a wonderful time in the garden!  It’s quiet and cool, with birds and squirrels busy.  I sit and have my breakfast and read after wiping the dew and spider webs off the plastic chairs.  Its usually hard to read much because something catches my attention and I am off to investigate or get my camera.

The sedum have turned from green to pink now.  I got these sedum from a local woman who just pulled six or seven small branches off her sedum and told me to put them in the ground.  I watered those rootless stalks for a whole summer until they settled in.  The purple finches love them.

Solidago Goldenrod Fireworks

Each morning as we look out the kitchen window we can see this autumn clematis growing and blooming on our laudry post.  It will keep getting bigger and bigger, so we may have to provide some other support or cut it back.  In the background of the picture you can see the sedum and the goldenrod.

A close up of the autumn clematis flower.  As the days get shorter these flowers seem to glow in the light of dawn and at dusk.

Dan joined me outside for breakfast last weekend.  The canna finally got established and has been blooming well.

We have a lot of morning glory volunteers in are yard each year.  I pulled a lot out this spring, but finally let them go in mid-summer.  It does not take them long to cover a wall.  I had to cut some back last weekend to keep them from killing the virginia creeper I planted on the wall this year.  They are so cheery in the morning!

I threw a lot of nasturtium seeds in the garden this spring.  When they start blooming they make some new color combinations.  Here nasturtium with two geraniums and blue hill salvia.

2 Responses to “Good Morning!”

  1. Donna said

    After all of the flowers are spent on the clematis, you should cut it down to about 18″ otherwise you’ll have seedlings all over. It will grow like a demon next year.

  2. Donna – The bottom three feet of the clematis have been brown all summer. Is it OK to cut it back in the fall with it brown like that? I do need to control it, because there is nowhere for it to go next year.

Leave a Reply

