Leaves of Grass

September 9, 2012

The native and ornamental grasses in my yard are blooming and provide a nice resting place for wildlife.

The Korean Feather Reed Grass has pink seed heads that look nice with the pink flowers around it; the Echinacea and Joe Pye Weed.

This is Joe Pye Weed – Little Joe, with more Korean Feather Reed Grass – Calamagrostis Brachytricia.

One evening, after a sunny day, I saw this little snake resting itself between the blades of grass in the meadow, where we don’t cut the grass.  When I tried to get a little closer I disturbed the grass and it slide away.  I have always been scared of snakes, but also fascinated.  Having them in the garden means I have plenty of biodiversity, letting the snake be part of the food chain.  I think we are mutually scared of each other.

The ornamental grass, Giant Sacaton, where I spotted the snake, was also where I saw this grasshopper.  There are grasshoppers all over the yard and I love to see them.  When I was young I enjoyed catching them.

Also in the same grass was this butterfly, which I think is a skipper.  Usually the skippers are flying wildly around pollinating everything, so I am wondering about this one that sat still while I took a picture.

I may have mentioned before that something has been eating our corn cobs.  I found three laying on the ground, somewhat chewed.  Maybe it is our local squirrels getting a vegetable snack.  I hope they enjoyed it.  They were very small cobs and not very yellow.

We also have chipmunks in the yard now.  I replanted my hens and checks yesterday and this morning I noticed that something had dug a hole right into the bottom of this planter!

10 Responses to “Leaves of Grass”

  1. Jeanne Roberts said

    Reblogged this on Lavendula13’s Blog and commented:
    Gardens are Nature’s psychological therapy.

  2. Hi there! What is the plant growing in the pomt in the final picture? I’ve just moved into house where this grows on a brick gate pillar?

  3. I call it “Hens and Chicks.” they might be called sempervivum, but I can’t tell all those little, similar plants apart. Anyway at the store where I bought them they were called hens and chicks.

  4. Love your blog. How high does your Joe-Pye grow? In my southern Québec garden, it can reach as high as 6 feet.

  5. Glad you enjoyed the blog. The gateway Joe Pye Weed can be 5 or 6 feet tall. The Little Joe variety is probably 3 or 4 feet. They did not do as well this year as when I planted them a few years ago. It might have been the drought.

  6. Martin Parry said

    Hi. I guess from your blog you are in the US. Well it was nice of you to read my piece on Fieldfare in my garden. I guess we don’t have visitors as exotic as snakes and chipmunks just a passing hedgehog or two. Still if I do see anything I’ll certainly blog it.

  7. Hedghogs would be more exotic than chipmunks or snakes here….

  8. I love grasses and natural plants my husband and I just moved south to Austin in the lone star state we are looking for drought resistant and heat tolerant varieties of vegetables and ground cover to plant instead of lawn.

  9. You have a great eye for foliage and texture against texture. Beautiful pictures. I think grasses are so important to mixed planting.

Leave a Reply

