Along Came a Spider

August 22, 2012

There are so many creatures in the garden.  On a foggy morning there were dew drops on many spider webs, so I got out my camera.

Every single evening at dusk a spider comes out and spins his web by our back door.

Here is that busy spider at work one evening.

I am not sure, but I think these webs in the yew bushes are from spider mites.

Also on the prowl is a praying mantis, hiding in the goldenrod.

I think this is a Silvery Checkerspot butterfly.  Black-eyed susans are a host plant for them, so that makes sense.  The wings are a little beat up on this guy, though.

This little yellow guy on the pole bean leaf is apparently a spotted cucumber beetle.  I guess they could be trouble, but I have so many predators in my garden, that all pests are kept in check, so far.

Laundry on the line.  These colors cheer me up!  It is good to shake the laundry off before  bringing it in, though, to leave critters outside.

Did I mention the hummingbird that stopped still on a fence for a few second right in front of me the other day?  Of course I did not have a camera with me, but I enjoyed seeing the little bird at close range.

Leave a Reply

