Flowers Blend Their Hue

July 21, 2012

For years I have sung a little song from my childhood:

“The birdies in the treetops sing their song.  The angels chant the chorus all day long.  The flowers in the garden blend their hue,  So why shouldn’t I, why shouldn’t you, praise him, too.”

The pictures below are not so much about blending, but I love the variety of colors, shades and hues.

I have two areas of the garden with spreading patches of black-eyed-susans.  They really brighten things up in the dry, hot days.

After the rain the nasturtiums started to bloom.  Nasturtiums are not fussy plants, but everything needed rain.

The rain also revived the sweet peas, which surprised me. You can also see that the leaf lettuce has begun to bolt.  We have stopped eating it as it tastes more bitter now.

I love the spectrum of hues on this pink zinnia.

This butterfly weed started blooming again, after I thought it was done.  I am still waiting for Monarchs and caterpillars.

Another patch of butterfly weed produced these seed heads when the flowering was done.  You can see the mating box elder bugs on the left, so there should be babies soon.  I wonder if the resident praying mantises eat those….

Dragonfly rests on northern sea oats at the end of the day.

We have a lot of creatures in the yard.  I come across toads when the sprinkler is on in the garden.  I saw a small yellow moth today that looked different than any I had seen before.  The more time I spend quietly in the garden the more I see.

Leave a Reply

