Summer Comes Early

March 18, 2012

I took the day off last Wednesday to go to the Chicago Flower and Garden Show.  It was about 80 degrees out and a great day to visit Navy Pier.  It has been warm like that every day, so with a week of 80 degree weather the garden is greening up and leaves are popping out everyhwere.  Here are a few pictures from the Garden Show and a few from the home front.

This garden is great for those who like beautiful relaxation.

A dog house with a green roof.

I visited the White House and the Let’s Move White House Kitchen Garden.

I will throw in a non-garden event.  Friday was St. Baldrick’s Day and Stephanie came home with a new look.

The Spice Bush, a native shrub, is blooming now.

This wasp was enjoying some early nectar.

White daffodils, columbine leaves to the right, Korean feather reed grass in the back and little boltonia leaves getting going on the left.

These onions are ready to eat.  I must have left them in the ground in the fall.  I cut back all the ornamental grasses, like this Miscanthus on the left.  I have about 8 or 9 praying mantis egg sacs, which many times I found on the grasses.  If anyone wants one they should let me know.

2 Responses to “Summer Comes Early”

  1. Donna said

    I want an egg sack!!! They might already be ‘out’. Do you see some holes???

    When can I come over???

  2. It is night now, so I can’t really see. Come any time and let yourself in the back yard. You can find one each on the north viburnum bushes. I think I put two on the laundry pole There is one in the clump of grass behind the bluebird house. Choose a healthy one and I hope they come out for you!

Leave a Reply

