September Bugs, Bees, Butterflies….

September 11, 2011

The garden is still very full.  Today it is 80 degrees and we had rain this week, so not only is there plenty of green vegetation, but a lot of critters are enjoying sipping and snacking in the garden, racing to do what they need to do before winter comes.

Dragonflies are my favorite.  Here the dragonfly rests in the zucchini shade.

Tomato hormworm.  This was a hormworm I saw two weeks ago.  On the right side the caterpillar is chewing and holding the vine with little hands or feet.

Monarch caterpillar in butterfly weed.  I saw two one day and then they were gone the next day.  I hope they made it to the cocoon stage.

Bumble bee in zinnia.

This bird house is too small for any birds.  This time of year all three of my bird houses are occupied by wasps.

Grasshopper in zinnias.  There are a lot of different kinds of grasshoppers, crickets, cicadas, and katydids in the yard now.

I have seen quite a few toads.  This is one of the bigger ones.  Great camouflage.

Cabbage moth, I think, in catmint.  I see a lot of cabbage moths in the garden.  Hopefully the grubs will not be a problem, but will be good food for the birds.

I enjoy feeding on the garden, too.

Recent tasty cooking: zucchini, cherry tomatoes and sweet red peppers sauteed in olive oil with salt and pepper.

2 Responses to “September Bugs, Bees, Butterflies….”

  1. Andrea said

    I love your gracious attitude to all the living creatures in your garden.

  2. I love watching these creatures enjoy the garden. I don’t want to see them inside the house, but outside they are part of this amazing ecosystem… Stephanie reminded me of some of the creatures in Japan. I used to hate the “hoppers” in Karuizawa!

Leave a Reply

