July flowers

July 24, 2010

Here are some of the pictures from my garden from this past month.

The tall Joe Pye Weed in the back is “Gateway.”  Just in front and almost as tall is “Little Joe,” which is in its prime now, several weeks later.  In the front is a small serviceberry, coneflower and Shasta daisies.

Joe Pye Weed flower close up.

Liatris blazing star, daisies and northern sea oats.

Liatris, strong, stately and beautiful.

Agastasche – hyssop

Korean feather grass – Calamagrostis Brachytricia behind Heuchera Plum Pudding

Stephanie took this picture of an Aster with seeds from the red switch grass.

5 Responses to “July flowers”

  1. Tim Johnson said

    The variety is marvelous. Even when I can’t keep up with the names I can imagine how great it must be to see each one blooming after you have planted and given it thought. We finished up your cucumbers tonight in a delightful salad that Sam made.

  2. Donna said

    Absolutely gorgeous pictures. My garden looked like yours many years ago before it got totally overgrown by ‘thugs’. I plant on reclaiming it soon – with about 5 gallons of Roundup!!!

    GREAT GARDEN, KRIS!!!

    • Thanks Donna! Your garden looks great, too! And a lot of my plants come from you, so you can be proud of that. I am looking forward to seeing how the plants I got from you this year will look next year once they are full grown.

  3. Shelby Walton said

    Hello,
    My name is Shelby Walton and I am a student in the College of Natural Resources at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. As part of my Interpretive Media course, I am developing several educational signs for The North Lakeland Discovery Center that will interpret Native Plants. While doing some research online, I came across your picture of a purple coneflower. This photo would be an excellent addition to the sign that I am currently designing. I would like to obtain permission from you for a one-time educational use of the photo as part of my sign project. If this acceptable, how would you like me to credit the photo on the sign? Thank you very much for your time, and I look forward to hearing from you.
    Sincerely,
    Shelby Walton
    Email: swalt576@uwsp.edu

Leave a Reply

