New Years Day – The blog starts . . .

January 1, 2010

What a way to start the New Year!  My daughter offered to help me start this blog.  We have been talking about it all year, so now we are getting it set up.

It is a cold, bright day with snow on the ground, though the clouds must have come over when I took this picture.

To the left of the laundry pole is the Chiquapin Oak we planted last year.  On the north east corner of the yard is the compost pile.

These pictures are taken from the warmth of my kitchen, which is the right place to be on a cold day like today.  The caryopteris, in the far left of the photo, always looks great in the winter landscape.

This is my greenhouse window in the kitchen.  The red cyclamen was a present when we moved in 4 years ago.  The Hens and Chicks on the left is several years old.  I take it out in the summer and bring it in for the winter.  I have several hooks above the window for hanging plants, but I don’t want to block my view too much, so I have not hung anything yet.

One Response to “New Years Day – The blog starts . . .”

  1. K said

    Happy New Year! Thanks for telling me about your blog – it looks great. I look forward to seeing the flowers and plants growing!

Leave a Reply

